Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism

Yesterday I received notice from Columbia that I’m one of fifteen students admitted to their 10 month MS program at the Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism. My first reaction was dread, because despite the fact that it’s the best program in the world (blah blah blah) I’ve recommitted to my true love, photography, over the past few months.  

Since moving to the Bay Area to reflect on what the hell I’m doing as a freelancer last spring, I’ve put a lot of long walks and thought into it. This fall, I decided that I’d apply to journalism school- but only to one, Columbia, which has the Stabile program.

Everyone from editors to colleagues to reps to friends has encouraged me to accept the admissions offer, but I can’t help but feel that the timing is less than ideal. Right now, I’m finally feeling steadier in Cali, and much clearer about certain projects (yes, the Federation book!) and photo work I’ve been doing.

So I read back through my application essays, to help redefine & solidify what my initial motivation was. Thankfully or not, it still appears valid- that is, coming to terms with the realization that a lot can be said with photography- but there’s an awful lot that the visual alone just can’t nail.

2 thoughts on “Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism

  1. Ida says:

    Just because you have a degree in something doesn’t mean you have to do just that thing. This is a 10 month program. It will go fast, and you will probably accumulate a great number of skills. That said, if you really feel like you are on a roll with what you are doing, I understand reluctance in breaking that. This would set you on a different path.

    Maybe this is your opportunity to pick up all those skills that attracted you to try The New School’s BA/BFA program. Goodness knows a masters would do you a lot better than two bachelors that some ridiculous people get…

    Congratulation! It’s good to see you getting opportunities and choices.

  2. Jeremy S. says:

    Hi Erin,

    This is your cousin, Jeremy. Marissa told me that she’s visiting San Francisco and mentioned that she’d like to meet up with you. Have you two been in touch? I only just learned that you have a blog, but am happy to have discovered this page as you’ve got some great photos posted – particularly those of the Olympic torch…Must’ve been exciting to attend~
    Congratulations on your acceptance to Columbia. Do you have the option of deferring their offer?
    Hope all’s well, I’m finishing up my second semester of law school, not much else going on here.

    Feel free to shoot me an email if you have time, jeremy.schlosser@gmail.com.

    Cheers,
    Jeremy

Leave a Reply

