When you’re writing a book…

Photo work tends to take a back seat. For now, my snapping is limited to the occasional assignment from my wonderful agency in New York, Redux Pictures, and some freelance clients. In terms of personal work, well, my head is pretty much swimming with information related to the investigations I’m unravelling in my upcoming book. It’s been hard to muster the energy to shooting non-cerebral work. And so, I’ve been shooting just for pleasure. Yup, I feel like an art-school kid again.

But I have to say, it’s really nice. Shooting for the love of photography is something I haven’t done in so long. My old Toyo 4×5 studio camera recently passed into her next life, and I’ve been adjusting to shooting in a different format. I dragged that poor old Toyo to so many places- leaking Brooklyn warehouses, Wyoming plains, urban California bedrooms- that her bellows finally had to be duct-taped together.

Though I’ve kept my lenses and film backs for when I can replace her, in the meantime I’ve been shooting 2 1/4 work in the same vein as the “Brooklyn Hangar” series that initially made me fall in love with large format photography. It feels strange, but I think it’s just the newness of the format. I’m using a new used Pentax 645 with just one lens. Hasselblads never felt right in my hands, and I just can’t think in a perfect square. The Mamiya systems I’ve used are just so damn heavy and insanely expensive. The Pentax is less precious, too- something I like a lot.

I miss photojournalism, too, and my head is bursting with story ideas that I can’t wait to start. I swear, my idea list never shortens. But for now, “real” photo work is back-burnered. I’m shooting for the sake of shooting. And it feels good!

One thought on “When you’re writing a book…

  1. I love the top image. I always thought of you as a photographer because that’s how I knew you back in the day. And then suddenly you were this supremely accomplished journalist. What a rare gift you possess, competence and creativity in dual realms.

Leave a Reply

